Regional Indicators

The Capital District Regional Planning Commission provides access to regional indicators. Our reports include:

Capital Region Indicators (2016)

This Report examines six topics and compares the Albany-Schenectady-Troy Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), comprised of Albany, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie Counties, with a peer group.  This  report compliments our work from 2015, Capital Region Statistical Report, and enables us to compare our region against others in a manner similar to that used in the 2003 report.

Capital Region Indicators, 2016 »

Capital Region Statistical Report (2015)

The Capital Region Statistical Report is an update to the Tech Valley Trends- A Basis for Civic Change report prepared in 2009 which was a collaborative effort among a number of regional partners in the Capital Region. This updated report was assembled by the Capital District Regional Planning Commission with contributions from the Capital District Transportation Committee.

Tech Valley Trends (2009)

Tech Valley Trends – A Basis for Civic Change is a product of the Tech Valley Civic Forum, created through collaboration between the Center for Women in Government and Civil Society and the Nonprofit Executive Roundtable at the University of Albany’s Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy. The Tech Valley Civic Forum was launched in September of 2007 as a unique and inclusive cross-sector initiative to enhance community vitality and sustainability.

Capital District Regional Indicator Report:  MSA (2003)

The Capital District Regional Planning Commission (CDRPC) created a set of indicators to measure regional performance in a broad range of subjects. The indicators measure the success and vitality of the Capital District using both timeline measurements as well as comparisons to similar regions around New York State and the Country.  To provide consistent data, comparisons between the Capital District and other regions generally utilize data for each region’s Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). In this report, the New York Capital District’s Metropolitan Statistical Area is a six county region, adding Montgomery and Schoharie Counties to the Capital District.


Regional Indicators Dashboard

CDRPC in partnership, the Capital Region Chamber’ s Non-Profit Business Council, the AVAIL Lab at UAlbany, the Community Foundation for the Greater Capital Region and the Capital District Transportation Committee have begun the process of developing a new Regional Indicators Dashboard.

For more information and updates, check out the project here.