Erastus Corning 2nd Awards for Intermunicipal Cooperation

The Capital District Regional Planning Commission (CDRPC) promotes intermunicipal cooperation by fostering collaboration and coordination to find solutions to regional challenges and maximize opportunities. CDRPC uses this approach to advance economic development, water quality, human services and sustainable communities.

Through this awards program, CDRPC will recognize individuals, organizations, or projects that exemplify an intermunicipal/ interagency cooperation. In addition, the program will specifically recognize projects related to government efficiency, economic development, water quality, and sustainable communities. The awards are named in honor of the Commission’s first Chairman, Erastus Corning 2nd, Mayor of the City of Albany from 1942-1983. This program would not be possible without the support from the program sponsor, the law firm of Hodgson Russ, LLP.


The program will recognize individuals, organizations or projects that have contributed to or demonstrate excellence in intermunicipal collaboration related to the following categories:

  1. Government Efficiency
  2. Economic Development
  3. Water Quality
  4. Community and Regional Sustainability


  • Individual(s)
  • Volunteers
  • Non-profit organizations
  • Educational Institutions and School Districts
  • Local, State, Federal or Agencies
  • Located in The Capital District counties of Albany, Schenectady, Saratoga, or Rensselaer


  • The nominated effort must have taken place within the past five (5) years;
  • The nominated effort or individual must have dealt with planning, implementation or public services
  • The nominated effort or individual must have involved at least two local jurisdictions or entities (i.e. nonprofits, school districts, fire districts, committees, partnerships) within the four-county region;


Applications are subject to an eligibility review conducted by CDRPC staff. Applications are also evaluated by an awards committee whose members representing academia, government, citizen and professional organizations, are appointed by the Chair of CDRPC. The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of the following criteria. However, due to the various types of projects/programs in applications, some criteria may not apply.

  • The project has achieved significant and measurable benefits, efficiency or cost savings
  • The project involves creative partnerships.
  • The project demonstrates innovation or introduces new approaches to overcoming challenges or maximizing opportunities.
  • The project demonstrates community involvement and support
  • Nominations of individuals under any category must demonstrate their significant contribution to advancing intermunicipal partnerships


  1. Government Efficiency: This category recognizes projects that have achieved greater efficiency in government administration and service provision, including shared services.
  1. Economic Development: This category recognizes economic development projects which include an intermunicipal or interagency partnership element. The intermunicipal element should include two or more municipalities.  Projects may be related to but are not limited to business retention and expansion, marketing and promotion, real estate development, tourism, and trade.
  1. Water Quality: This category recognizes initiatives and creative partnerships that improve and protect local and regional water quality. Nominated projects or initiatives should result in measurable environmental or social benefits.
  1. Community and Regional Sustainability: This category recognizes initiatives, projects, organizations that have used intermunicipal partnership to advance community and regional sustainability. Projects may include but are not limited to: planning, policy, energy efficiency projects/initiatives, adaptation and mitigation to address climate change, community design and connectivity, food systems planning.

The deadline for submission has passed. Awards will be presented at an awards banquet at the University Club, Albany, at 6:30pm on Thursday, March 26, 2020.

L-R Town of Clifton Park Supervisor Phil Barrett, Town of Halfmoon Supervisor Kevin Tollisen, 2018 Award Winners for the Town of Clifton Park and Town of Halfmoon Community Connections Project


2017 Erastus Corning 2nd Achievement Awards for Inter-municipal Cooperation Award Winners