Participating Communities

Capital Region Climate Smart Communities

There are 14 local governments in the four-county Capital District that have adopted the Climate Smart Community Pledge. These communities include: the cities of Albany, Cohoes, Rensselaer, Saratoga Springs, Schenectady, Troy, and Watervliet; the towns of Bethlehem, Clifton Park, East Greenbush, and Niskayuna; the Village of Green Island; and the counties of Albany and Schenectady (see map below).

A community profile of each CSC participant is included below. The profiles include all pertinent information on their current climate protection efforts and the details of any action on pledge elements, and serve as documentation of the status of each CSC participant in addressing the ten elements of the CSC pledge.


Climate Smart Communities Map

Cap Distr CSC communities map

Community Profiles

Albany County – Profile

City of Albany – Profile

Town of Bethlehem – Profile

Town of Clifton Park – Profile

City of Cohoes – Profile

Town of East Greenbush – Profile

Village of Green Island – Profile

Town of Niskayuna – Profile

City of Rensselaer – Profile

City of Saratoga Springs – Profile

Schenectady County – Profile

City of Schenectady – Profile

City of Troy – Profile

City of Watervliet – Profile